LoRa 与 Zigbee: 哪种技术更适合物联网连接

LoRa 与 Zigbee: 哪种技术更适合物联网连接
LoRa 与 Zigbee

在过去的几十年里, 物联网取得重大进展, 成为各行各业的科技王者. 从智能可穿戴设备到家庭自动化再到智能城市, 物联网就像着火的房子, 继续开辟新的可能性, 改造我们的业务和生活. 作为物联网的传输基础, 无线通信技术成为热门话题, 各种技术带来新的技术来分享物联网市场的大蛋糕. 其中最受欢迎的 无线技术, 本文将重点介绍 LoRa 和 Zigbee 之间的区别.

物联网发展: LoRa 和 Zigbee 简介

物联网应用中有许多无线通信技术可以帮助建立局域网或广域网. LAN的无线技术涉及2.4GHz WiFi, 紫蜂, 蓝牙, 等等。, 广域网包括2G/3G/4G, 等等. 在低功率广域网之前 (低功耗广域网), 似乎您必须在低功率和长距离之间做出选择. 采用LPWAN技术, 可以最大限度地提高远程通信和降低功耗, 同时节省额外费用.

什么是洛拉

LoRa 代表远程无线电, 美国Semtech公司采用并推广的低功耗广域网无线标准. 基于扩频技术, 它是LPWAN的无线通信技术之一, 在传输距离和功耗方面表现良好.

在相同的功耗下,LoRa 比其他无线技术具有更长的距离, 提供一个简单的长距离系统, 电池寿命长, 以及扩展传感器网络的高容量. Lora 连接的覆盖范围是 3-5 是传统射频通信的几倍. 现在, LoRa已在全球普及并逐渐应用于物联网.

什么是 Zigbee

Zigbee 是一种用于短距离传输的无线网络协议, 适用于传输距离短的一系列电子元件之间的数据传输, 低传输速率和低功耗. 它的名字来源于蜜蜂的锯齿形舞蹈, 因为蜜蜂总是用翅膀跳舞,向同伴传达花粉的位置.

作为短程, 低复杂度, 低电量, 低成本无线通信技术, ZigBee无线通信技术基于IEEE802 15.4 网络中的无线标准, 安全和应用软件. Zigbee 在智能家居和工业物联网中的广泛应用证明它是一种可靠、高效的无线网络解决方案.

LoRa 和 Zigbee 之间的逐个特征比较

LoRa 和 Zigbee 是不同的无线通信标准. 打破差异, 以下部分将向您展示 LoRa 和 Zigbee 之间的一些常见和不常见的比较.

频带: LoRa 被设计为工作在频率之间 863 到 870 欧洲的兆赫, 902 到 928 兆赫在美国, 915 到 928 亚洲兆赫, 和 2.4 全球GHz, 而 Zigbee 在欧洲的传输频率超过 868MHz, 915 兆赫在美国, 以及全球标准 2.4GHz Industrial Scientific and Medical (主义) 频带.

传输范围: 在传输范围方面, 基于 Zigbee 的无线连接的最大范围是 100 米, 而对于 LoRa, 它可以很好地扩展到 15-20 公里. 在洛拉, 范围取决于许多因素,例如室内或室外网关, 使用的天线, 等等. 一般, LoRa 可以通过 3 英里 (4.7 公里) 在城市地区和 10 英里 (16 公里) 或更多在农村地区.

能量消耗: LoRa芯片发射电流接近Zigbee, LoRa的接收电流低于Zigbee, 两者都具有较低的功耗. 一般来说, Zigbee系统终端在组网和正常运行时收发的数据包数大于LoRa, 而且这些交互也会增加功耗.

数据速率: LoRa 的数据传输速率从 300 bps 至 37.5 kbps, 取决于使用的带宽和扩频因子. Zigbee 能够以 250 kbps, 100 kbps, 40 kbps, 和 20 kbps.

拓扑: LoRa网络架构采用星型拓扑, 其中网关在各个终端设备和中央网络服务器之间中继消息. Zigbee 有多种网络拓扑, 包括明星, 树, 对等网络和网状网络. 每种拓扑对消息的路由和设备的连接都有不同的影响.

成本: 由于通讯距离远, 穿墙能力强, LoRa系统容量大, 相同数量的终端所需的LoRa网关数量远少于Zigbee网关, 可以节省系统的组网成本. 与 Zigbee 相比, LoRa设备的安装和部署更简单, 这大大降低了他们的安装成本.

洛拉紫蜂
规范权威洛拉联盟Zigbee 联盟
发展年份20091998
标准IEEE 802.15.4IEEE 802.15.4
频带863 到 870 兆赫, 902 到
928 兆赫, 915 到 928
兆赫, 2.4 全球GHz
868兆赫, 915 兆赫, 2.4吉赫兹
传输范围3 英里 (4.7 公里) 在市区, 10 英里 (16 公里) 或者
更多在农村地区
10 到 100 米
能量消耗300 bps 至 37.5 kbps低的
数据速率低于 Zigbee20 kbps (868 兆赫),
40传输速率 (915 兆赫) , 250 kbps (2.4吉赫兹)
拓扑星星星星, 树, 点对点和网状网络
成本低的中间
应用用作广域
网络
用作LR-WPAN,即. 低速率无线个域网

LoRa 和 Zigbee 的优缺点是什么

LoRa和Zigbee的不同特性决定了它们会有不同的优势和局限. 基于他们上面的特殊功能, 这里介绍一下 LoRa 和 Zigbee 的主要优点和局限性.

LoRa 的好处和限制

LoRa的优势

更长的射程: 这是LoRa技术的突出优势之一. LoRa 传感器的通信范围以千米为单位.

低功耗等于更多电池: 低功耗意味着 LoRa 设备的电池寿命更长, 它可以实现超过 10 年.

卓越的抗干扰能力: LoRa采用扩频技术, 大大提高了LoRa无线通信的抗干扰能力. 即使同时向主机发送相同频率的信号, 这些信号不会相互干扰, 从而彻底解决无线信号通信易受干扰的痛点.

简单快速的部署: LoRa网络基本采用星型拓扑, 处理更少的带宽, 并且易于扩展. 对于数据传输不稳定的实际物联网部署,这是一个明显的选择.

LoRa 的局限性

不适合大数据有效负载: LoRa 不适用于大数据有效载荷,因为它处理的带宽较少,传输的数据有效载荷也较少.

未经许可的无线电网络: LoRaWAN 在未经许可的无线电网络上工作, 随着 LoRa 设备和网络部署的增长, 您可能会在该频率上遇到干扰.

不太安全: LoRa网络层和应用层由相同的根密钥和随机数生成,互不隔离. 所以, 私钥泄露存在数据隐私泄露和数据篡改风险.

Zigbee 的好处和限制

Zigbee 的优势

灵活的网络结构: Zigbee的网络结构不止一种, 但由于 Zigbee 通信距离短,穿墙能力弱, 网络扩展难.

高安全性: Zigbee 采用 AES-128 加密算法, 在数据传输过程中提供三级安全性. 单个应用程序可以灵活地确定其安全属性.

短暂的延迟: 短延迟意味着 Zigbee 迅速响应, 通常在 15 毫秒内从睡眠模式切换到工作模式. 而且, 一个节点可以在30ms内连接到网络, 进一步省电.

网络容量大: Zigbee 网络包括多达 255 Zigbee 网络节点, 其中一个是主设备,一个是从设备. 如果通过网络协调器相互连接, 整个网络可以支持超过可观的 64,000 Zigbee 网络节点.

Zigbee 的局限性

高成本: 由于 Zigbee 通信距离短, 需要部署大量节点的应用成本高. 当出现问题时, 更换成本会很高.

传输覆盖范围有限: 有限的覆盖范围意味着 Zigbee 主要应用于室内环境而不是室外环境.

复杂的部署: Zigbee无线网络涉及大量终端节点和网关, 组网复杂,网络扩展困难.

Zigbee 和 LoRa 连接的不同用例

LoRa 和 Zigbee 为完全不同的用例而生. 基于LoRa远距离传输的优势, 超强抗干扰能力, 和低功耗, 其常见的应用场景包括智慧城市, 智能家居, 智能建筑, 智能环境监测, 智能测量, 智慧农业, 智能农场, 智慧产业, 智慧零售, 智慧物流, 智能消防, 等等. 准确地说, Lora让应用场景从室内无缝延伸到室外,甚至到整个社区.

通信频段宽、通信距离短决定了Zigbee解决方案的实施. 常见应用场景包括智能家居, 智能测量, 智慧农业, 智慧能源, 等等. Zigbee在自动控制和遥控领域更受青睐, 并在家庭自动化和工业现场控制方面形成了一定规模的生态链. 随着应用的深入, Zigbee自身的局限性让Zigbee产品遇到瓶颈. 同时, LoRa进军物联网势头强劲,成为其强劲对手.

LoRa 与 Zigbee: 选择什么以获得更好的连接性

比较 LoRa 和 Zigbee 就像比较苹果和橘子. LoRa 在范围和功耗方面优于 Zigbee. Zigbee 在短距离通信和室内环境中受到青睐. 至于物联网连接选择哪种无线技术更好, 很明显,结果是基于使用情况. 您可以根据您的具体业务需求选择最佳的.

一般用途, 对于需要长距离传输的物联网应用,LoRa 是一种更有效的选择, 低功耗, 大量连接和位置跟踪. 典型应用包括智能水表读数, 智慧农业, 智能停车场, 车辆追踪, 人员位置跟踪, 智慧社区等. LoRa 还可以与 WiFi 等其他技术集成, 蓝牙, 大数据, 以及更多以提供更好的连接性.

同时, Zigbee 也是一种可靠的无线网络解决方案, 在工业领域历史悠久,用于远程监控. 它应运而生,以应对工业自动化对可靠无线数据传输的日益增长的需求. Zigbee 网状网络解决方案将大大提高物联网设备的效率和互操作性.

分享这个帖子

与 LoRaWAN 物联网专家交谈

讨论 LoRaWAN 信标, 模块, 物联网项目的网关用例和定制 LoRaWAN 设备

安排演示

MOKOLoRA 是 LoraWAN 物联网技术的专业人士, 与物联网专家一起登上您的市场之巅

LoRa vs Zigbee: Which is The Better Technology for IoT Connectivity

LoRa vs Zigbee: Which is The Better Technology for IoT Connectivity
LoRa vs Zigbee

Over the past few decades, the Internet of Things has made significant progress, establishing itself as the technology king in all walks of life. Right from smart wearables to home automation to smart cities, IoT is like a house on fire, continues to open up new possibilities, revamping our businesses and lives. As the transmission basis of the IoT, wireless communication technology has become a hot topic, with various technologies bringing forth new ones to share a big pie of the IoT market. Among the most popular wireless technologies, this article will focus on the differences between LoRa and Zigbee.

IoT development: introduction to LoRa and Zigbee

There are many wireless communication technologies in IoT applications that can help to establish a local or wide area network. The wireless technology of the LAN involves 2.4GHz WiFi, Zigbee, Bluetooth, etc., and the WAN includes 2G/3G/4G, etc. Before low power wide area networks (LPWAN), it seemed like you had to choose between low power and long distance. With the adoption of LPWAN technology, it’s possible to maximize longer-range communications and lower-power consumption, while saving on additional costs.

What is LoRa

LoRa stands for long-range radio, which is a low-power WAN wireless standard adopted and promoted by American Semtech Company. Based on spread spectrum technology, it is one of the wireless communication technologies of LPWAN, performing well in terms of transmission distance and power consumption.

LoRa has longer distances than other wireless technologies for the same power consumption, providing a simple system with long distances, long battery life, and high capacity to scale sensor networks. The coverage of the Lora connection is 3-5 times that of traditional radio frequency communication. At present, LoRa has been popularized all over the world and gradually applied to the Internet of Things.

What is Zigbee

Zigbee is a wireless network protocol for short-distance transmission, which is suitable for data transmission between a series of electronic components with short transmission distance, low transmission rate and low power consumption. It takes its name from the zig-zag dance of honey bees, as bees always dance with their wings to communicate the location of the pollen to their companions.

As a short-range, low-complexity, low-power, low-cost wireless communication technology, ZigBee wireless communication technology is based on IEEE802 15.4 wireless standard in networking, security and application software. The wide application of Zigbee in smart homes and industrial Internet of Things proves that it is a reliable and efficient wireless network solution.

Feature-by-feature comparison between LoRa and Zigbee

LoRa and Zigbee are different standards for wireless communication. To break down the differences, the following part will show you some of the common and uncommon comparisons between LoRa and Zigbee.

Frequency band: LoRa is designed to operate at frequencies between 863 to 870 MHz in Europe, 902 to 928 MHz in America, 915 to 928 MHz in Asia, and 2.4 GHz worldwide, while Zigbee transmits over 868MHz in Europe, 915 MHz in America, and the global standard 2.4GHz Industrial Scientific and Medical (ISM) frequency band.

Transmission range: In terms of transmission range, the maximum range for Zigbee-based wireless connections is 100 m, while for LoRa, it can extend well up to 15-20 km. In LoRa, the range depends on numerous factors such as indoor or outdoor gateways, antenna used, etc. On average, LoRa can transmit signals over 3 miles (4.7 km) in urban areas and 10 miles (16 km) or more in rural areas.

Power consumption: The transmitting current of the LoRa chip is close to that of Zigbee, and the receiving current of LoRa is lower than that of Zigbee, both of which have lower power consumption. Generally speaking, the number of data packets sent and received by the terminal of the Zigbee system in networking and normal operation is larger than that of LoRa, and these interactions will also increase power consumption.

Data rate: The data transfer rate of LoRa varies from 300 bps to 37.5 kbps, depending on the used bandwidth and spreading factor. Zigbee is able to deliver data at the rate of 250 kbps, 100 kbps, 40 kbps, and 20 kbps.

Topology: LoRa network architecture adopts a star-of-stars topology, in which gateways relay messages between the individual end devices and the central network server. There are various network topologies in Zigbee, including star, tree, peer-to-peer and mesh networks. Each topology has different effects on the routing of messages and the connection of devices.

Cost: Due to the long-distance communication, strong wall-penetrating capability, and large system capacity of LoRa, the number of LoRa gateways required by the same number of terminals is much less than that of Zigbee gateways, which can save the networking cost of the system. Compared with Zigbee, the installation and deployment of LoRa devices are simpler, which greatly reduces their installation cost.

 LoRaZigbee
Specifications authorityLoRa AllianceZigbee Alliance
Year of development20091998
StandardIEEE 802.15.4IEEE 802.15.4
Frequency band863 to 870 MHz, 902 to
928 MHz, 915 to 928
MHz, 2.4 GHz worldwide
868MHz, 915 MHz, 2.4GHz
Transmission range3 miles (4.7 km) in urban areas, 10 miles (16 km) or
more in rural areas
10 to 100 meters
Power consumption300 bps to 37.5 kbpslow
Data ratelower compare to Zigbee20 kbps (868 MHz),
40Kbps (915 MHz) , 250 kbps (2.4GHz)
Topologystarstar, tree, peer-to-peer and mesh
Costlowmiddle
Applicationused as Wide Area
Network
used as LR-WPAN i.e. low rate wireless personal area network

What are the pros and cons of LoRa and Zigbee

The different features of LoRa and Zigbee determine that they will have different advantages and limitations. Based on their special features above, here is an introduction to the main advantages and limitations of LoRa and Zigbee.

LoRa benefits and limitations

Advantages of LoRa

Longer range: This is one of the prominent advantages of LoRa technology. The communication range of LoRa sensors is measured in kilometers.

Low power equals more battery: Low power consumption means LoRa devices have a longer battery life, which can achieve a battery life of more than 10 years.

Remarkable immunity to interference: LoRa adopts spread spectrum technology, which greatly improves the anti-interference ability of LoRa wireless communication. Even if signals are sent to the host with the same frequency simultaneously, these signals won’t interfere with each other, thus thoroughly addressing the pain point that wireless signal communication is easily interfered.

Easy and fast deployment: The LoRa network basically adopts a star topology, handles less bandwidth, and is easy to expand. It is an obvious choice for practical IoT deployments where data transmission is unstable.

Limitations of LoRa

Not ideal for large data payloads: LoRa is not ideal for large data payloads because it processes less bandwidth and transmits less data payloads.

Unlicensed radio networks: LoRaWAN works on unlicensed radio networks, and as LoRa devices and network deployments grow, you may experience interference on that frequency.

Less secure: The LoRa network layer and the application layer are generated from the same root key and random number and are not isolated from each other. Therefore, there are risks of data privacy leakage and data tampering due to private key leakage.

Zigbee benefits and limitations

Advantages of Zigbee

Flexible network structure: There is more than one network structure of Zigbee, but due to the short communication distance of Zigbee and the weak ability to penetrate walls, network expansion is difficult.

High security: Zigbee adopts the AES-128 encryption algorithm, which provides three-level security during data transmission. Individual applications can flexibly determine their security properties.

Short delay: Short delay means that Zigbee response promptly, typically switching from sleep to working mode in 15ms. Moreover, one node can connect to the network in 30ms, further saving power.

Large network capacity: A Zigbee network includes up to 255 Zigbee network nodes, of which one is a master device and the others are slave devices. If connected to each other through a network coordinator, the entire network can support more than considerable 64,000 Zigbee network nodes.

Limitations of Zigbee

High cost: Due to the short communication distance of Zigbee, the cost is high for applications requiring the deployment of a large number of nodes. And when something goes wrong, replacement costs will be high.

Limited transmission coverage: The limited coverage means that Zigbee is primarily applied in indoor environments rather than outdoor contexts.

Complex deployment: Zigbee wireless network involves a large number of terminal nodes and gateways, so networking is complicated and network expansion is difficult.

Different use cases of Zigbee and LoRa connectivity

LoRa and Zigbee are born for totally different use cases. Based on the advantages of LoRa’s long-distance transmission, super anti-jamming ability, and low power consumption, its common application scenarios include smart cities, smart homes, smart buildings, smart environmental monitoring, smart measurement, smart agriculture, smart farm, smart industry, smart retail, smart logistics, Intelligent fire protection, etc. To be precise, Lora makes the application scenarios extend seamlessly from indoor to outdoor and even to the whole community.

The wide communication frequency band and short communication distance determine the implementation of Zigbee solution. Common application scenarios include smart home, smart measurement, smart agriculture, smart energy, etc. Zigbee is more preferred in the automatic control and remote control field, and it formed an ecological chain of a certain scale in home automation and industrial field control. With the deepening of application, Zigbee’s own limitations make Zigbee products encounter a bottleneck. At the same time, LoRa is entering the IoT with strong momentum and becoming its strong rival.

LoRa vs Zigbee: what to choose for better connectivity

Comparing LoRa and Zigbee is like comparing apples and oranges. LoRa is superior to Zigbee in terms of range and power consumption. Zigbee is favored in short-range communication and indoor environment. As for which wireless technology is better to choose for IoT connectivity, it’s obvious that the result is based on usage. You can select the best according to your specific business needs.

For general purposes, LoRa is a far more effective option in case of IoT applications that require long distance transmission, low power consumption, large number of connections and location tracking. Typical applications include smart water meter reading, smart agriculture, smart parking lot, vehicle tracking, personnel location tracking, smart community and so on. LoRa can also be integrated with other technologies such as WiFi, Bluetooth, big data, and more to provide better connectivity.

Meanwhile, Zigbee is also a reliable wireless network solution, which had a long standing history in the industrial field and is used for remote monitoring and control. It comes into being in response to the increasing demand for industrial automation for reliable wireless data transmission. The Zigbee mesh network solution will greatly improve the efficiency and interoperability of IoT devices.

SHARE THIS POST

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin
Share on email

Talk to a LoRaWAN IoT Expert

Discuss LoRaWAN Beacon, Module, and Gateway Use Cases and Custom LoRaWAN Devices for Your IoT Project

Schedule a Demo

MOKOLoRA is Professional in LoraWAN IoT Technology, Climb To the Top of Your Market With IoT Expert